There are six types of pelvic relaxation syndromes, with each specific to an area, that occurs due to laxity of the ligaments, muscles and fascia that support the organs. This includes the pelvic floor muscles. It is estimated that almost 10 per cent of women with a pelvic relaxation syndrome require surgery to correct it.

These syndromes can occur due to trauma, like childbirth, obesity, ageing, pelvic surgery, injury, or straining for long periods of time. There could also be anatomical abnormalities or malformations of tissue, pressure coming down from the abdomen due to respiratory or abdominal organ problems, sacral nerve disorders, and connective tissue problems.

Often prolapse is in more than one area.

Types of pelvic relaxation syndromes

  1. Prolapse (vaginal, uterine)
  2. Cystocele
  3. Urethrocele
  4. Enterocele
  5. Rectocele


This is where lax muscles and tendons and ligaments allow the passage of another organ into the vaginal canal. It can come all the way out.


A rectocele is a condition whereby the rectum pushes into the perineal area, creating a sack.

Cystocele and/or urethrocele

A cystocele is where the bladder prolapses down, with a urethrocele being where the urethra also prolapses.


An enterocele is where part of the small intestine pushes down into the perineal area.

Learn how to strengthen your pelvic floor muscles


Pin It on Pinterest